The Famous Marching Presidents


Presidential Weekend always starts on the Friday before the Constitution Day Parade. This event is a casual pot luck affair that is a chance for current Famous Marching Presidents to enjoy the large group of Alumni. This is a non-dress in roles event, but you find a lot of those ‘special’ hats being worn. The event for years has been held in the splendid and historic home of Jesse and Kay Connor.

Nevada City’s Annual Constitution Day Parade and Celebration is purported to be the oldest and largest Constitution observance in western America. It is a three-day event that includes living history encampments and Revolutionary War reenactments at Pioneer Park and even a First Ladies Fashion Show. This year marks the twenty-ninth year the Famous Marching Presidents of Nevada City have participated in the parade.



The Famous Marching Presidents’ organization honors the U.S. Constitution in the involvement of the Nevada City Constitution Day Parade and other related public celebrations.

MPBroadSt2000The Famous Marching Presidents number nearly 200 Presidents, first ladies, secret service and volunteers. We are all residents of Nevada City, a small town of 3,000 nestled in the Gold Country of the Sierra Foothills about an hour east of Sacramento and an hour west of Reno. We are business people, contractors, high-tech entrepreneurs, retirees – folks from all walks of life who share a deep faith in the importance of our Constitution. We also like a good time and stay socially connected all year long.

The Famous Marching Presidents believe in community service and education. Since 1990 the group has honored persons who have shown outstanding community service by annually awarding the Col. William “ Bill “ Lambert Award. This outstanding community award is named after the founder of the Constitution Day Parade which started in 1967. The Lambert award is given out each year on the second Sunday in September during the Presidential Dinner. Since the year 2000 the Famous Marching Presidents have brought the message of the Constitution into Nevada County Schools. Each year dresses as a President and First Lady they have thrilled as well as educate our local students.

To contact the Famous Marching Presidents, please direct email to marchingpresidents@gmail.com


The Famous Marching Presidents’ Executive Committee:

Famous Marching Presidents Committee to Revive Everyone and Everything Presidential!
Anna Crockett ~ Beth Ann Wilson ~ Brandy Wilson ~ David Parker ~ Debbie Lang ~ Janet Swanton ~ Joel Heppting ~ Louise Jones ~ Mel Marshall ~ Pearce Boyer ~ Sharon Kenedi ~ Sheila Stein